Configure Project UI & Workspaces The default project workspace provides access to all Kineviz capabilities, organized in panels and tools that you display one at a time. For specific workflows or users, you may want to limit the available tools and features, or use several panels without needing to close and re-open them constantly. To achieve this, you can: Edit the project UI Configuration to show or hide panels, tools, menu options, and Kineviz extensions on a project-by-project basis. Configure and save one or more project workspaces (including an user-defined default workspace) that can be selected within an open project. UI Configuration The UI Config button in the Project > Settings panel and _Appearance _ section opens a UI configuration dialog where you can show or hide UI panels, extensions, and right-click menu and toolbar options. To configure a project’s user interface: Go to the Project > Settings panel. Click Appearance and the UI Config button. The project _UI Configuration _ dialog displays all the UI elements you can enable globally, enable on the project, or disable. The icon next to each element indicates its current status. Click the checkbox or icon next to an element to enable (or disable) it in the project. Scroll to the top of the dialog and click Save to apply the changes and exit to the project canvas. User-defined Workspaces Different workflows or use cases may require heavy use of a limited set of Kineviz panels and tools. For example, when importing and remodeling data, switching between Query, Transform, Table, and DataStore panels can become tedious and confusing. To solve this, you can configure workspaces in which multiple panels are open at once, and the toolset limited to those you actually need. Within a project’s overall UI configuration, you can rearrange items on the panel menu, set the position of split, floating, and docked panels and tools, and save the panel layout as a named project workspace. The Saved Workspaces menu lets you switch between workspaces, rename or delete a workspace, set the default workspace that appears when the project opens, and re-arrange any open workspace on the fly. Since workspace panels can overlay much of the browser window, a set of one-click peek controls is provided to dismiss panels temporarily, showing just the canvas and its visual graph. Configure a Workspace To configure a workspace, you can: Click + drag to rearrange the order in which menu icons appear on the left, right, or bottom panel menus. Set the floating or docked status for the open panels in the workspace: Float panels (and some tools) on the canvas, optionally selecting its initial relative size and initial position in the browser window. Right-click and choose Float, or click a panel’s float icon. Then click the floating panel’s menu and select Size and Position_ to move the floating panel to the desired position in the browser window. Dock a panel to the center or to a different edge of the browser window. This splits the canvas. A panel menu is added to the right edge, and a tabbed panel selector is added to panels docked to the bottom or center. Floating a docked panel, and then closing it returns it to the last docked position. To select a different dock position, right-click the panel icon or tab, select Dock and select the docking option. Split docked panels to display more than one panel at a time. To display more than one panel at a time docked to the left, right, or bottom edge (but not the center), with a docked panel open, right-click another panel docked to the same edge and select Open in Split. An Open in Split setting is saved in a named workspace. However, opening a panel by clicking its menu icon overrides the split. To reapply it, you must re-apply the workspace by selecting it in the Saved workspaces menu. Manage Workspaces You can apply and edit your collection of project workspaces at any time. You can: Switch between workspaces. Rename or delete a workspace. Modify and save the currently open workspace. Set a default project workspace. Revert or Save a Workspace A saved workspace is not a locked configuration. When you modify the current workspace (for example, by opening another available panel, or changing a panel’s floating, split panel, or docking status), a blue dot appears on the Saved Workspaces icon, and the current workspace is flagged as Modified. You can revert the workspace changes, or save them. To revert or save a workspace: In the Saved Workspaces menu, select: Revert to Saved to reapply the current workspace configuration. Save, to save the modified browser layout to the currently applied workspace. Save As to save the modified browser layout as a new named workspace. Rename or Delete a Workspace To rename a workspace: In the Saved Workspaces menu, roll over the workspace and click its pencil icon. In the Rename Workspace dialog, edit the name, and click OK (or Cancel). To delete a workspace: In the Saved Workspaces menu, roll over the workspace and click its trash can icon. In the confirmation dialog, click OK (or Cancel). Set a Default Workspace You can select any of your workspaces as the default that will appear when you open the project. The default workspace does not load a view. To set the default project workspace : In the Saved Workspaces menu, select the workspace to apply it. Select Set as Default. View the Canvas from a Workspace In a workspace, the panels you need might cover most of the canvas, making it hard to view the resulting graph as you go. You can: Use canvas visibility (peek) toggles at the top right of the browser window to temporarily dismiss some or all panels. Add a dockable Canvas picture-in-picture panel to the workspace that shows a live thumbnail view of the canvas and graph. To use canvas visibility (peek) toggles: In the workspaces bar at the top right of the browser window: Click a peek toggle icon to dismiss or reopen panels docked to the left, right, center, or bottom of the browser window. Click Show canvas (Shift + Z) to dismiss (or reopen) all open panels. When all panels are dismissed, Show canvas changes to Show panels . To add a Canvas picture-in-picture panel to a workspace: In the Saved Workspaces menu, create and save a workspace, or apply an existing workspace. Choose Canvas picture-in-picture. The picture opens as a floating panel positioned at the lower right of the canvas. Optionally, click the Dock menu at the top right of the picture-in-picture panel, and choose a docking position. In the Saved Workspaces menu, select Save to save to the currently applied workspace, or Save As to create a new named workspace.