Save Graph Views

You can save and reload the visible and hidden data on the project canvas (including its layout) at any time. Either:

  • Save a View, a named .graphxr file uploaded to the server, and displayed in the Project > Views panel and the canvas View dropdown menu. A saved view persists in the project until you delete it, and is available to any user of a shared project.

    02 09 01 SaveViewIntro
    You can Manage Saved Views using options in the Project > Views panel. Many of these are also available in the Views dropdown menu.
  • Save one or more Snapshot views using the Snapshots pane. These views are saved locally in the project, and persist until you exit the project. To save a set of snapshots, you must download the snapshot archive before you exit the project.

    02 09 02 SnapshotIntro
All data on the canvas is deleted when you leave the project or log out. You should save any view that you may want to revisit, such as a complex layout or transformed graph.

Save a View

The View dropdown menu at the top center of the canvas lets you save a view without opening the Project > Views panel.

A colored dot appears next to the current view name when the canvas has unsaved changes. Manually moving nodes and edges, applying a new layout, or adding, editing, or deleting nodes, edges, or properties counts as a change. Moving the entire graph or shifting the canvas viewpoint (i.e. with Pan, Zoom, Rotate, Center To, or Fly Out) does not.

You can:

  • Save the view as the current view name, or Save As a new named view.

  • Duplicate the view as Current View Name(copy).

  • Use New to save the current view and open an empty unsaved view.

Save the current view

Saving the view on the canvas includes the visible data and its layout, and any hidden data.

To save the current view:

  1. Open the view dropdown menu.

    02 09 03 SaveViewMenu
  2. Select either Save to save the view with its current name or Save As to save to a new named view.

    In the Project > Views panel, use Save or Save As icons to save a view.
  3. If you choose Save As, enter a descriptive name in the dialog.

  4. Optionally, assign an existing view folder, or enter a folder name and click Create to assign a new folder.

    02 09 04 ViewSaveAsDialog
  5. Click Save.

    The new view appears as the current view on the View menu and in the Project > Views panel.

    02 09 05 SaveViewMenuDone
    In the Project > Views panel, the view appears in All Views. If you don’t assign it to a specific named folder, it is also placed in the Unfiled folder.

Duplicate a View

Use Duplicate to save a copy of the current view to the same folder, and load it to the canvas in one step.

Duplicate is only available on the Views menu.

To duplicate the current view:

  1. Optionally, select Save in the view dropdown menu to save any changes to the current view.

    If the view on the canvas has unsaved changes, they are not saved before duplication.
  2. In the view dropdown menu select Duplicate.

    02 09 06 ViewDuplicate

    The duplicated view is loaded to the canvas, and appears on the view menu and in the Project > Views panel.

    02 09 07 DuplicateViewDone

Create a New Empty View

Use New on the view menu to (optionally) save the current view, and then create an empty Unsaved View in one step.

New is only available on the Views menu.

To save the current view and create a new empty view:

  1. Open the View dropdown menu and select New.

    02 09 08 ViewNewMenu
  2. In the Unsaved Changes dialog, choose Save, Save As or Don’t Save to be applied to the current view on the canvas.

    02 09 09 UnsavedChanges
  3. If you choose Save As, enter a descriptive name and click Save.

    The canvas is cleared and the current view name changes to Unsaved View.

    02 09 10 NewViewUnsaved
    Saving the new Unsaved View opens the Save View dialog, where you enter a new view name and optionally create and/or assign a folder for it.

Save Snapshot Views

Snapshots are views saved in the Snapshots pane. Unlike saved project views, snapshots cannot be shared with other project users. However, they are useful for saving views of the graph at key points you may want to re-visit as you explore and transform the graph.

In the Snapshots pane, you can:

  • Save a set of up to ten (10) views in memory and re-load any one of them at any time. Each snapshot includes a number, thumbnail preview, timestamp, and a Note field for adding descriptive text.

  • Save and re-load a collection of views as a .graphxrsnapshot archive.

    02 09 11 SnapshotFloatingFull
    When you exit the project or log out, snapshots are deleted. In addition, when you import a snapshot archive to your project, it replaces the current set of snapshots. Before exiting the project canvas or importing another snapshot archive, use Save Snapshots or the download icon on the title bar to export the current snapshot archive to your local system.

To save snapshots:

  1. Open the Project > Settings panel, and click the Canvas section.

  2. Click the Show Snapshots checkbox.

    The Snapshots title bar appears on the canvas.

    02 09 12 SettingsShowSnapshots
  3. Click the dropdown arrow at the left to expand the Snapshots pane.

  4. Click Create Snapshot.

    A thumbnail of the current view is added to the top of the Snapshot list. A Note shows a date-time timestamp for the snapshot view.

    02 09 13 SnapshotOpenPane
  5. Optionally, click in the Note field to add descriptive text.

  6. As you continue your exploration of the graph on the canvas, you can:

    • Click Create Snapshot (or the plus (+) icon in the title bar) to add to your set of views.

    • Click Save Snapshots (or the download icon on the title bar) to download the set as a .graphxrsnapshots archive.

    • Click a snapshot Trash can icon to delete a snapshot.

    • Click a snapshot Cloud icon to load a snapshot to the canvas. This loads the snapshot to the current named view, and highlights the snapshot view in the Snapshots pane.

    • Click in the Note field to edit a snapshot description.

  7. Before you exit the project, if you have not already done so, be sure to click Save Snapshots to download the set of views.

    Use the icons on the Snapshots title bar to create a snapshot and download the archive without expanding the pane.