Hiding nodes temporarily can be useful for focusing on subsets of graph data that you may want to work with further, or clear from the graph. You can:

  • Use Hide Selection to hide selected nodes temporarily, and Un-Hide Selection to restore hidden nodes.

  • Use Leaf Trimming (Ctrl+L) to temporarily collapse into one node and remove (or restore) the nodes in a selection which are connected by only one edge.

  • Deselect the Visible checkbox for a category or relationship to temporarily hide nodes of a category or edges of a relationship.

  • Select the Exclude checkbox for any property of a category or relationship to temporarily exclude it from the data.

Using Hide Selection and Un-Hide Selection

To focus on specific subsets of your data in the graph space, you can use the Hide Selection icon in the context menu to hide selected nodes (and their connected edges) temporarily.

Once you hide nodes, the Un-hide Selection icon appears. Click it to restore all the hidden nodes and edges to the graph, update the total counts in the legend lists, and de-select the data.

The Hide Selection and Un-hide Selection icons appear next to each other in the context menu. However, Hide Selection appears only when nodes are selected. Un-hide Selection appears only when nodes have been hidden.

To hide nodes:

  1. Select nodes using any selection method.
    NOTE: The Hide Selection icon appears only when one or more nodes are selected.

  2. Click the Hide Selection icon in the context toolbar.
    The selected nodes (and any connected edges) are hidden. The hidden nodes, edges, etc. are subtracted from the lists in the legend.

You can keep selecting and hiding data, which are added to whatever has already been hidden.

To restore hidden nodes:

  • Click the Un-Hide Selection icon in the context toolbar to restore all hidden nodes.
    NOTE: The Un-Hide Selection icon appears only if data has already been hidden.
    The number of restored nodes, edges, etc. are added back to the lists in the legend.

Using Leaf Trimming

Use the Leaf Trimming icon (Ctrl+L) to toggle to collapse into one node (or restore) the nodes in a selection which are connected by only one edge.

GraphXR automatically creates new GXRSuper_ nodes (with the category label GXRSuper_Category, based on the category of the trimmed nodes.

A new GXRSuper_ relationship is also created for the single connection. It has a numNodes property whose value is the number of nodes that have been collapsed into the one super node.

To see this information, select a super node and click the Info icon (Ctrl+I) to see the property.

You can click to select a super node, for example, if you want to remove the trimmed nodes.

To restore trimmed nodes, you must select the connected node (not the super-node), and click Leaf Trimming (Ctrl+L). The super node category is deleted, and the trimmed nodes re-appear.

Hiding data by Category or Relationship

By default, nodes and edges in the graph are visible.

You can hide all data for a category or relationship temporarily by clicking the Visible checkbox for an entity in the Category or Relationship tab of the Project panel.

  • For a category, all its nodes as well as the connected edges disappear from the view, and both the category name and the name of its relationships disappear from the list in the legend.

  • For a relationship, all its edges disappear from the graph space, and the relationship name disappears from the list in the legend. Nodes connected to the edges remain in the graph space.

To hide data by Category or Relationship:

  1. Open the Project panel and Category (or Relationship) tab.

  2. Click a category or relationship label to select it.

  3. Un-check the Visible checkbox.

    The nodes (or edges) for the selected category or relationship disappear from the graph space.

To display data for the entity again, click its Visible checkbox.

Excluding Property data

You can exclude any property for a category or relationship temporarily by clicking its Exclude checkbox in the Category or Relationship tab of the Project panel.

To exclude a property of a category or relationship:

  1. Open the Project panel and Category (or Relationship) tab.

  2. Click a category or relationship label to select it.

  3. Locate one or more properties you want to exclude, and click the Exclude checkbox.

    Excluded properties no longer appear in information panels or tables.